Book Reviews, Musings, WWW Wednesday

WWWWednesday | 01.17.18

Hi friends!

Happy Wednesday! Time to join the fun of WWW Wednesday, hosted by the wonderful Sam and discover new and exciting reads in an amazing book community.

My week in books has been diverse and exciting! How about yours?


HAVE READ:

30753733

KEEP HER SAFE by K.A. TUCKER

I was lucky enough to win this ARC in a Goodreads giveaway (the first book I’ve won). It releases January 23rd, so I jumped right in to be able to provide an early review.

And it’s been the best of decisions. It’s been a while since I read a suspense book with strong characters and thematic resonance!

A really fantastic read and I am now excited to discover more of Ms. Tucker’s writing. I would recommend this to my friends who enjoy the thriller genre!

22221136

A DESPERATE FORTUNE by SUSANNA KEARSLEY

What a beautiful and engaging read! I have now read all of Kearsley and the thing that always strikes me is how poignant and vivid the historical aspects of her stories are. They resonate so much more than the present story line. The same can be said for this tome, though I do applaud Kearsley for creating a main character in the present who has Asperger’s. It’s not often you get diverse characters and I was glad for the change here.

Untitled design.pngREADING:

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

Just started this one last night and I am in love with everything about it! From the characters to the life-giving prose to the cold harsh winter setting to the rich mythology. Love. Love. Love!

I was quite upset that I could only get 50 pages in before I had to put it down, but I am looking forward to returning to this magical world tonight. Arden has already won me over!

Untitled design.pngWILL READ:

The Girl in the Tower by Katherine Arden will follow close behind unless I end up disliking the first (highly unlikely considering my experience thus far).

My sister and I are foregoing Salem’s Lot this month so I’ll be choosing between either The Song of Achilles or Ship of DestinyI should probably go with the latter to finish Hobb’s Liveship Traders trilogy, but I’ve been really meaning to jump into Miller’s story. We shall see how I feel when the time comes 🙂


Let me know what you’ve been reading, friends. Share your reads in the comments or your WWW link and let’s delight in the love of reading together!

Stay curious (1)

—-

Want to connect across social media? You can find me here:

AUTHORS BLOG: aliasfaithrivens

GOODREADS: Faith Rivens

Instagram: @booksspringeternal & @faiththerivens

Twitter: faith_therivens

Facebook: Faith Rivens

12 thoughts on “WWWWednesday | 01.17.18”

  1. The Bear and the Nightingale looks magical! I hope the rest is as good as the first 50 pages ❤

    I haven't read thrillers for years but it used to be my go-to genre for a while! Might have to consider Keep Her Save, but no promises ^-^

  2. Congrats on your goodreads giveaway win! And I can’t wait to start The Bear And The Nightingale myself; it sounds magical. Happy reading!

Leave a comment